150 S. Washington Street, Suite 202
Falls Church, VA 22046
Phone   (703) 534-5588
Fax   (703) 534-5585

EB-4 Category

Category:  EB-1  |  EB-2  |  EB-3  |  EB-4  |  EB-5

The EB-4 visa was initially reserved for certain religious workers. U.S. Congress has created several additional visas for various groups over the last twenty years to allow certain classes of people to enter the United States and obtain permanent residency. Those visas have been placed in the EB-4 category. As this is a "catch-all" category, each type of visa is distinctly different from the other. You may be eligible for an employment-based, fourth preference visa if you are a special immigrant according to one of the following:

  • Religious Ministers and Workers
  • Broadcasters
  • Iraqi/Afghan Translators
  • Iraqis Who Have Assisted the United States
  • International Organization Employees
  • Physicians
  • Armed Forces Members
  • Panama Canal Zone Employees
  • Retired NATO-6 employees
  • Spouses and Children of Deceased NATO-6 employees

Petitioning for an Employment-Based Fourth Preference Immigrant

To petition for an employment-based fourth preference immigrant, your employer must file a Form I-360, Petition for Amerasian, Widow(er), or Special Immigrant. However, there are certain situations where you, the employee, may self-petition on your own behalf.

Family of EB-4 Visa Holders

Your spouse may also be admitted to the United States. Your children, unmarried under the age of 21, may be admitted to the United States.